Skip to content
August 27, 2009 / Upnishad

Uncover “No to All” option in Windows

Windows

As you’ve noticed, when you copy files from one location to another, Windows will pop up a message asking if you want to overwrite existing files (if they have the same name). There’s a “Yes to All” button, but there’s no “No to All” button – which means you have to click No for every single file you don’t want to overwrite. This can be a real hassle if the copying was an accident in the first place. This brief tip will show you how to use a “No to All” feature.

  1. The Confirm File Replace window doesn’t have a “No to All” button.

  • This forces you to click No each time you don’t want to overwrite a file.
  • But there’s a trick – hold down the Shift key on your keyboard, and then click No. That will tell Windows that you don’t want to overwrite any of the files you’re copying – a hidden “No to All” feature.
  • Advertisements

    Leave a Reply

    Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

    WordPress.com Logo

    You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

    Twitter picture

    You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

    Facebook photo

    You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

    Google+ photo

    You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

    Connecting to %s

    %d bloggers like this: